Healthier Lifestyle v Weight Loss

Hi guys,

I just want to talk some more about the choice between lifestyle or weight loss. This is related to yesterday’s post but I just don’t think I said enough.

Thinking about health, weight etc, answer these two questions:

1. What is important to you?

Have you answered? Good.

Now, answer this:

2. What should be important to you?

You may not know the answer to question (2), you may think the answer is the same as question (1). Maybe you’re right, maybe you’re wrong. Here’s what I think…

All of my yo-yo health existence, I’ve focused on weight loss and it’s got me nowhere! If you’re ‘over weight’, weight loss is important that’s a given, but, it’s not the ‘be all and end all’ of what is most important for our health lives as a whole. You may not agree, it may be the most important thing to you right now, all I can say with certainty though is this, it’s not the most important thing for me anymore.

Let’s face it, the weight loss focus is usually linked to a diet and diets don’t work! I’m fed up of being disappointed with myself, fed up of failing the ‘holy scales’, fed up of counting and measuring and separating and questioning, et cetera et cetera et cetera.

It’s time to change our focus, to concentrate on what is ‘most’ important and the thing that is most important is being ‘healthier’ and having a healthier lifestyle. I am truly convinced that this is true. Can I hear an Amen!!! “Amen, preach brother!” Okay I will.

Ever since I decided that I wasn’t going to be bothered about my weight, but, instead I was going to focus on doing some exercise 4-5 times a week, I feel so much better about what is ahead of me. There is no pressure what so ever. Let me repeat that and make it bold for further emphasis. There is no pressure what so ever. I totally mean it. Why? Well, it’s quite simply this. Everything I do now, which is more active, more healthy than what I usually used to do, is a step in the right direction and as a consequence, I am far ‘healthier’ today than I was six weeks a go (when I started). Of course I’ve been weighed a few times (because weight loss is important) but it’s not my main focus. Plus, it doesn’t need to be 4-5 times per week, it can be 2-3, get this, even just once a week will be great. Why? Because you’re making a positive change that will make you ‘healthier’. Tiny steps, but steps non the less.

Guys, let me just say it as it is. Fat unhealthy people die younger than our fitter, healthier counterparts – Fact! How many fat old people do you see? That was the question my long suffering and extremely wonderful wife asked me and the plain truth is you don’t. I want to live, I want to enjoy spending time with Jan, the kids, friends and extended family. I don’t want to be the guy who sits in the car whilst everyone goes for a walk anymore. I don’t want to be the one who struggles with the smallest of tasks. I DON’T WANT TO HAVE TO ASK FOR THE FATTY EXTENDER BELT ON A PLANE. You know what I mean. Can you tie your laces or put a pair of socks on without a struggle? I know I can’t, not yet anyway 🙂

Why not give it a go?!? Desire to be healthy not skinny. Make exercise and/or more activity a part of your life. You’ll still lose weight, honest you will, but the pressure will be off and instead you’ll be working on a new you. You’ll be adding something positive to your daily life that will make a significant difference in so many ways. The hardest part is the first step, but you can do it. I did and I never imagined I would ever sort myself out. I was nearly 28st (391lbs / 177kgs), I was ridiculously unhealthy, I was depressed, fearful and dieing physically and mentally. “But Paul,” you say. “I thought you said it’s not about weight, why have you just quoted your weight as the problem?” No sorry, it wasn’t the problem, but it was a consequence of the real problem (lifestyle) and a statistic I know you will identify with and it’s a fact. That’s what I weighed. My unhealthy lifestyle was getting me heavier and heavier and heavier. Like I said before, weight is important so it’s important to recognise what you’re dealing with, just stop zoning in on it and making weight loss what you want to achieve. It’s a dead end street that I’ve been down too many times, but not anymore baby. It’s early days, but it doesn’t feel like it used to feel every time I used to diet. The fact is, I’m not losing weight, I’m getting a healthier lifestyle and losing weight as a consequence.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, Health, Healthier Lifestyle, Healthy Eating, Physical Health, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthier Lifestyle v Weight Loss

  1. Pingback: Regular Monthly (non focused) Weigh In [1] « 224

Leave a Reply

