Throw away the scales

Don't do it, don't do it, DON'T DO IT!!! Scales are of the devil 😦

All my adult life, I have been a yo-yo dieter. Listen, I can lose weight. Oh yeah baby, I can lose weight big style. In my last Slimming World group, all the women (cos let’s face it, it’s mostly you girls) hated me, cos every week, I was ‘slimmer of the week’ with losses of 8/10/12lbs, every week! It used to drive them nuts. You women can get really jealous 😉 So, if I can lose weight like that, why the yo-yo? Well, I am convinced it is down to the fact that a diet, more than anything else, is focusing on the scales. Yep, the dreaded scales that we all love and hate in equal measure. If you have dieted, you understand what I am saying. The first couple of weeks you climb aboard the ‘holy scales’ and you lose 4-5lbs, you are thrilled – all hail the scales! The next week 2-3lbs, you’re still okay – hail the scales! The next week its down to 1lb and even though it’s a loss, you’re disappointed – dear scales, what did I do to upset you! Don’t even talk to me about the days you stay the same or put weight on, your going to scale hell you sinner. “Don’t worry,” says Trisha, the priest, I mean group leader, “It was probably your ‘star’ week.” I never knew women could have three periods a month until I went to Slimming World 😀 You girls were okay you had a star week, what about poor me, the bloke in the class. Star week my bum, it was all those packets of crisp I (you) ate last night watching ER! Come on admit it.

Now for me, there in lies the problem. As soon as the scales tell you you are not losing, all motivation goes out the window and you stop the class. What happens next? You stuff your face all the more and put all the weight (and more) back on. The yo-yo begins again. Depressing or what? Welcome to my world.

There is hope!

Yes, there is hope for us, or hay esperanza as we say in Spanish.

For the first time in my life, I believe I’ve got a fresh perspective and it’s working!! Quite simply, I’ve decided what I need is a ‘healthier’ lifestyle. I say ‘healthier’ because I’ve got to be real, if I can get to be a little bit healthier tomorrow than I am today that’s progress and I’m gonna be better for it. Tiny, teeny, ickle baby steps is what’s required and here’s the most important thing, a revelation if you will – IT’S NOT ABOUT THE SCALES OR MY WEIGHT!!

Relax, take a deep breath people. All you seasoned dieters out there are thinking, say what, not about my weight. Yep that’s right brothers and sisters, throw away those scales and welcome to the promised land. Think about it, no seriously, think about it. We need to be healthy not skinny. Skinny people die of heart disease, diabetes and cancer. Okay, the rates may be less but they still do. We need a healthier heart and a healthier mind – full stop!

So there I was sitting in my interview for Active Sefton with the lovely Brenda and she asked me a very simple question. “Paul, what do you want to achieve?” Without thinking I said, “Brenda, I’m fed up of trying to lose weight, I just want to get active and live to be an old person.” “Paul” she said, “you’ve hit the nail right on the head, if you want to lose wait your just setting yourself up for disappointment.” Eureka!!!!! Without realising, without thinking, my desperate little brain got me to say something that was right. Brenda was happy, I was happy, all I had to do was make it happen.

What have I done about it

Well, I’ve joined Active Sefton (there’s that link again) and I’m aiming to do 30mins of exercise 4-5 times a week. Because I’m still in the ‘honeymoon period’ (I’m gonna blog about that soon) I’m actually doing more than that, but, for the long term, I’ve decided that exercise has to be a part of my life, just like having a shower or brushing my teeth. Getting started is/was the hardest part, but, if you do start and ‘forget about the scales’ you will develop a much better attitude towards what you’re trying to achieve and guess what, you will still lose weight anyway. Am I trying to say don’t get weighed at all, no, trust me it would take a herculean effort not to bother at all, all I’m saying is, don’t let it be your focus! A ‘healthier’ lifestyle is where it’s at.

Right over to you. Come and join me. If you live halfway around the world, don’t actually move to Liverpool , but join me metaphorically on this journey to being ‘healthier’. Diets don’t work.

Adios, Paul

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Diet, Exercise, Healthier Lifestyle, Obesity, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Throw away the scales

  1. Pingback: Healthier Lifestyle v Weight Loss « 224

  2. Pingback: Have a treat and don’t feel guilty « 224

  3. Pingback: Grandma baked, so here’s what… « 224

  4. Pingback: Let’s get physical « 224

  5. Pingback: Weigh In Approaching | 224

Leave a Reply

