(THR) The Fat Burning Secret

Shhh, don't tell anyone fatty!

Your THR, aka Training Heart Rate or Target Heart Rate, is the rate at which your heart should beat to effectively burn fat.

Okay I’m getting serious now and as my good friend Tilly off Miranda always says, “bare with…”

How often have you been to the gym and absolutely battered yourself on a machine? You want to do a 30min session, but, after about 15-20mins you are shattered, can’t speak, can’t breathe, maybe can’t even walk. Now, you think you’ve had a good workout (and you may have done in one sense) but have you really, if you want to burn fat? The answer I’m afraid, is no!

Lots of (boring) scientific studies have been carried out and they all seem to agree on the effectiveness of a calculating your THR and working to it to burn fat more efficiently. Each persons THR is different and this link will give you the details of working out yours accurately.

In a nutshell (for a fairly accurate figure) though, get a calculator and do this:

220 minus your age, multiplied by .65

So for me it’s:

220 – 42 x .65 = 116 This means my THR is 116bpm (beats per minute).

If you can’t be bothered doing this yourself, you could always get the good people at olympicfitnesscoach.com to calculate it for you. Tell Chris I sent you 😉 Okay? Good, anyway, so…

Now, if I was to go to the gym and walk, run, ride or row for between 30-60mins with a steady heart beat of 116bpm, I would burn far more fat than you battering yourself into exhaustion for 15-20mins. Fact!

Try it out next time you go to the gym. If you haven’t got a heart rate monitor, just use the one on the exercise machine (less accurate) or get this cheap as chips Karrimor for £15 from SportsDirect. I’ve got this exact model and it’s totally fine for what we need.

So there you have it, working to your THR is the Holy Grail of burning fat. How cool is that? Answer: Way cool!!!

Read more science here then get down to the gym and try it out. Go on, go…

Adios, Paul

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (THR) The Fat Burning Secret

  1. Pingback: Joddle – The Movie « 224

Leave a Reply

