I Can Do It…

Hair cut, gym glow and oh yeah, double chin haha. Can't have everything yet but its still early days people. Come on big boy!

NB – For those of you that have read my ‘note’ on facebook, this is the same post. I’m using the post as the starting point for this new blog. I will probably be deleting the note and continuing here, but for now let’s see how we get on. The blog posts will be on my wall and news feed.

Hello people and welcome to my new blog.

Just a bit of a ‘diary of thoughts and updates’ regarding going the gym and trying to maintain a healthier life style. I may waffle and get a bit random, but hey this is for me really and for anyone who needs a bit of encouragement. So here goes…

Background – Those who know me, know I’ve been a ‘porker’ for many years. Personally I blame Jan (my long suffering wife) for providing me with a wonderful marriage and great food, but hey, it’s not all down to her now is it 🙂

Life had been getting more and more difficult because of my weight. Simple tasks like, getting off the couch (I’m not joking) had become more and more difficult. Forget walking round the shops, bending down, sitting on the floor, sitting in a restaurant chair that has arms etc. Everything and I mean everything had become too much of an effort.

Jan had tried to encourage me to make changes, but I’d become too lazy, too comfortable and just couldn’t see a way out. More and more people were trying to encourage me and give me gentle advice, but, I wasn’t listening, or actually ready. To be honest I was depressed, mainly for other reasons beyond my control (but that’s another story) but never-the-less it was affecting my whole outlook.

One day Jan and I were talking and she said, “Look babe, how many fat old people do you see?” Honestly I thought – none! On another occasion, Joel (my eldest son) said, “Dad you’re gonna be dead before you’re 50.” Both these statements really struck a chord with me.

Sadly, earlier this year Jan’s Dad died. It was totally unexpected, he was healthy and well, but he had a heart attack. It was a massive shock. Again this hit me and Jan quite rightly said, “Look Kracker, if you died of a heart attack no one would be surprised.” I had to do something.

Where am I now – Okay so I’ve joined the Active Sefton Programme since the 25th March 2011. With a GP referral you can get up to 14wks of support at a super reduced rate for sports, activities and classes in all Sefton Sports Centres. After the 14wks, you can continue at a slightly less super reduces rate. Good stuff for all us Super Morbidly Obese types 😉

To be fair, at first my heart wasn’t fully in it. Don’t get me wrong, I went to the programme interview and I was honest and sincere about wanting to change my lifestyle, but, it was more mental appreciation than full on commitment. So for the first couple of weeks effort levels were minimal. Enter Jan!

Jan (aka Solly), my wife, best friend and all round super mum (she hates me going on about her haha) offered to be my gym buddy. What’s that I hear you say, well, as part of the programme you can also have a ‘buddy’, a person to join in the activities with you. So Jan signed up and gave me that little extra boost I needed to get my bum out of the chair and in the saddle – did you like that, chair, saddle, man I’m good! Anyway, the last couple of weeks have been fantastic! We’ve gone together 4-5 times a week, we’ve really enjoyed it and I’ve properly got my mojo. God I love my wife!!!!

What next – Well, I’m gonna keep adding to this diary, blog, journal thingy and hopefully we can encourage one another to get healthy. I’m gonna post boring things like, what I’m doing in the gym, food stuff, my weight etc, but, hopefully I can come up with some funny stories and interesting tit bits to keep you reading. Ready? Interested? Let’s go everybody, or as we say in Spain “Vamos a todos!!!!”

Starting Weight (25th March 2011) – 177.4 kgs – 27 st 13 lbs – 391 lbs

Current Weight (30th April 2011)   – 173.4 kgs – 27 st 04 lbs – 382 lbs

I can do it…

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Exercise, Healthier Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Can Do It…

  1. Lucy Birch says:

    Hi Kracker, Andy sent me the link to your blog:) Sounds like your making a great start. Although Andy and I dont generally exercise together (the 5 sprogs tend to get in the way, although family cycle rides are fab.) i think we have both found it helps that we are trying for good health together. You obviously have a super family to support you, keep up the good work. If you slip up dont worry or beat yourself up, just carry back on with the good work. I’m loving this website for new inspiration at the moment http://www.marksdailyapple.com/ it has some quite different ideas, but really worth reading:)
    Good luck
    x

    • paulbentley says:

      Lucy, great to hear from you and thanks. Jan has been the one who has helped me kick start this and we are lucky in that we have been able to train together, although once I get a new job that will change. We definitely want to ‘get on our bikes’ for some family rides and it won’t be long till we’re all biked up and ready to roll. Take care and stay in touch. I’m hoping to be blogtastic so keep looking in.

      Kracker x

  2. Pingback: Grandma baked, so here’s what… « 224

Leave a Reply

