Half Marathon Training – Week #5 Stats

Well guys, unfortunately things have gone from bad to worse.

As you know, I decided I needed to completely rest during week #4 of my training schedule. All because of a really innocuous injury to my right calf whilst running home from church. During my rest week (6th – 12th Feb) I undertook no exercise at all and well, rested.

Last week (week #5) I did nothing on Monday and had a 1.5 mile walk with Jan on Tuesday around the Marina. It was okay, but, there was still a twinge, so, I decided to give it a few more days. On Friday, I decided to do the same walk and see how things went – Disaster. Half way round, the pain started to slowly increase until I ended up limping back to the car – Devastated!

The bottom line is this, it’s looking like there is no way on God’s green earth (with the exception of divine miraculous intervention) that I will be running a half marathon in less than three weeks. I say again – Devastated.

I’m trying hard to look on the bright side and be positive, but alas, not only has my event training been shot to pieces, most (if not all) of my ‘healthier’ lifestyle exercise, consisted of leg based cardio and that’s just not possible. Oh, and my eating has gone down hill as a result of my realisation that this half marathon is probably not going to happen. Quite pathetic really, but true non-the-less. *picks up bottom lip*

Pretty poo all round really.

Look, there will be more half marathons and marathons – that there is me looking on the bright side :-) – so I’m going to go to the gym in the morning and see what I can do as an alternative to leg based cardio. a friend of mine said I have to try and train around the injury. I could do upper body weights or I’m thinking of core strength work. I’ll see how I go. Maybe I can row and it won’t hurt my leg.

As far as the event is concerned, for now, I’m not going to pull out or ask for a refund. After all, there are still nearly three weeks for that miracle. I was heavier than what I am now, the last time I ran a similar distance, so theoretically, I could still do it even if I can’t train up to it :-) Don’t tell my mate Neil I said that though. He predicted I wouldn’t be able to take part when I first hurt my leg. Naively, I said, “No way man. I’ve still got four or five weeks, I’ll be fine.” You think – Doh. Haha. I suppose I didn’t want to listen.

Pointless me putting up an image of my little schedule chart, but, here it is anyway. This will be the last though. Shame really, I was doing so well :-(

That’s it for now peeps.

Catch you soon.

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

“I Can Do It…!!!”

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Fitness, Healthier Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half Marathon Training – Week #5 Stats

  1. Must be so frustrating but sounds like your leg needs a bit more time to heal.
    How about swimming for exercise? People say it’s great. Bores the swimsuit off me so I don’t do it but might be a good alternative if it’s something you would enjoy.

  2. J. says:

    how’s things. leg any better?

Leave a Reply

