Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No it’s Super Morbidly Obese Man

Up, down and awayyyyyyyyyyy

When I was growing up as a child, I loved super hero comics (I actually think that they taught me how to read). I loved to read, well I mean, I loved to read comics. Batman, Spider-Man, Iron Man, Captain America, The Avengers, The Hulk, The Silver Surfer, you get the picture. Baby, I read them all. Of course, the ultimate hero was, yes, you guessed it, Superman. ‘Supie’ was every ones favourite hero and we all wished we could be like him. He was super strong, super fast, invincible, had laser blasting eyes, super hearing, had x-ray vision and he could fly. Wow, what a combination. We all had serious debates about which super power was the most important super power. “Easy,” I said. “X-ray vision, cos you could see through girls clothes.” I’m just being honest, don’t get mad at me. Anyway, I’m a good boy now :-)

Alas, super heroes were all fantasy, Superman didn’t exist outside of a comic book, no one could be like him for real, or could they?

Well actually, oh yes they could my friend. It was quite easy to become a super man (or woman). All you had to do was stuff your face, get ‘comfy’, live a sedentary lifestyle and be terrified by the thought of exercise. Finally, just let the years pass you by and hey presto, you became Superman. Super Morbidly Obese Man I mean. Nothing like comic book Superman, more of a rotund immobile version, but you were officially Super. Jump forward to today and here I am, at your service, as long as it doesn’t involve walking or standing or doing anything.

Obesity

Obesity has several classifications from under weight to super super morbidly obese (yes I deliberately put super x 2). Check yours here. Basically, the classification is based on your BMI (Body Mass Index) which is a calculation of your height and weight to determine the amount of fat you have wobbling around your body. The calculation gives you a number between about 16 (under weight) and 60 (super super). A BMI above 30 is considered over weight. Mine is 51. Yes you heard right, five one, fifty-one, which is really bad and classes me as Super Morbidly Obese. The more obese you are, the more risk of numerous diseases and my BMI suggests serious risk.

So then, how are you looking? A bit of a serious post today, but never-the-less an important one. Answer me this question:

How many fat old people do you see?

Adios amigos,

Paul (Kracker)

ps – don’t forget to add your vote to the 10k Poll please. Did I say please :-)

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Health, Obesity, Physical Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No it’s Super Morbidly Obese Man

  1. Neely Heldt says:

    Hi, just ran into this web site from digg. It is not an article I would typically read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thanx for creating a blog post worth reading!

    • paulbentley says:

      Thanks for the comment Neely. The blog is helping to keep me focused on the task and comments like yours can only help further. Keep looking in :-) Paul

  2. Pingback: BMI or Not – That is the question | 224

Leave a Reply

