Have a treat and don’t feel guilty

A Farley special roast dinner. You've never tasted roast potatoes like it!!!

Just a short post today/tonight.

Make sure you have the occasional treat

The road to a healthier lifestyle is a difficult one especially if you have really let yourself get out of wack – like me :-) If we try and do too much too soon, like hours and hours of exercise and drastic food changes, it can have the same affect as the scales and we don’t want that do we.

The occasional treat can really help you carry on and fend off thoughts like, “I just can’t do this,” or “I can’t cope this is too hard.” The truth is you can do this, it does seem hard, but we all need to retrain our bodies & minds and that takes time. Small steps is the key with no guilt if you treat yourself.

I’ve not been weighed for a while (obviously or I’d be a bit of a hypocrite wouldn’t I) but this morning I got out a pair of jeans I’ve not worn for over two years and guess what, they fit me again!!! Jan, the kids and I had plans to go to my cousin Sheila’s house for lunch after church today and her partner ‘Farley’ makes a ‘to die for’ roast dinner and more specifically, roast potatoes *drool*. So, because I’ve been doing so well and because I was fitting in too new/old jeans, I decided I was going to have my fill and I did. A roast dinner plus jam sponge and custard for pud. DE-LI-CIOUS !!!!! I won’t lie, guilty thoughts started filtering through my brain, but NO, I don’t need to feel bad. It was a great meal, I really enjoyed it, it was a treat and as I continue down the path I’ve started, one roast dinner aint gonna spoil the show.

With little steps, small changes and a new healthier lifestyle mind set, the occasional treat is goooooooood!!!!

What do you think?

Let’s keep it up people and if you’re reading this thinking, “I wish I could get healthier,” you can. Take the first step today and I’ll be here to cheer you on!!

Adios amigos,

Paul

About paulbentley

My name is Paul Bentley and I started my blog in May 2011. I live in Liverpool in the North West of England, UK – I have always had ‘issues’ with my weight! When I got to 27st 13lbs (177kgs or 391lbs) I finally decided that ‘enough is enough’ and I need to make changes. As part of the process I decided I need to make myself accountable, so I’ve decided to be accountable to you. Thanks for offering ;-)
This entry was posted in Diet, Healthier Lifestyle, Healthy Eating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have a treat and don’t feel guilty

  1. Pingback: Grandma baked, so here’s what… « 224

Leave a Reply

